top of page

Press Release

North Dakota
We The People: The Citizen, The Constitution
Press Release, Jan. 21, 2022


Edgeley State Champions (1).jpg

After a morning of simulated congressional hearings that tested their knowledge of the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights, one North Dakota School took top honors at the We the People:The Citizen and the Constitution State Finals Challenge.

The State Finals champion is the Edgeley High School team taught by Melissa Entzi. The students qualified to advance to the National Finals scheduled for April.

Six schools competed January 19 in the academic competition where students demonstrate their knowledge of the Constitution in simulated congressional committees and were judged by state supreme court justices, constitutional scholars, lawyers, and public officials. The schools competing and their instructors were Bismarck Century (Shannon Sorenson), Edgeley (Melissa Entzi), Kidder County (Jennifer Kallenbach), Napoleon (Andrew Pike), South Heart (Susan Reinhiller) and Washburn (Keith Jacobson). The competition was held at the State Capitol in Bismarck. State Senator Nicole Poolman gave the opening address. 

“This program will make participants more likely to engage in civic organizations, to run for public office and to seek public service,” said Poolman. “Education is key in promoting civil discourse and this program and competition provides education that every American citizen should have.”

“The solution to many issues in this country may very well be quality civics education with inspiring teachers and students committed to their own learning,” state co-coordinator Lee Ann Barnhardt said. “Participation in We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution is hopefully just the beginning in their responsibility as active and engaged citizens to have a clear understanding of the concepts of civil discourse, civic virtue and the common good.”

We the People is a Humanities North Dakota program.

2022 North Dakota We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution State Finals Results:

Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Awards of Merit-Top Scoring Unit (Class Awards)

Unit 1 - Bismarck Century High School (Chance Bowlinger, Tyler Kleinjan, Dylan Nosbusch)

Unit 2 - Edgeley High School (Madison Giesler, Allee Boyer, Mya Olsen)
Unit 3 - Bismarck Century High School (Olivia Data, Madison Lively, Reagan Spomer)
Unit 4 – Kidder County High School (Brock Nicholson, Jake Olson, Grant Pfaff, Ella Svanes)
Unit 5 - Bismarck Century High School (Carsten Irgens, Ange Missalou, Paige Stevhn)
Unit 6 – Bismarck Century High School (Claudia Purdon, Quessia Missalou, Sydney Sheehan)

2022 ND State We The People Champions:
Edgeley High School (teacher: Melissa Entzi)

bottom of page